White Belt Post – Welcome

So. I’ve started a blog.

I have officially joined the masses of thousands of other writing hopefuls that want to be read and want to be heard. Who want to share their thoughts and their ideas and pass around their opinions like a peace pipe.

This is not a health blog.

This is not a cooking blog.

This is not a craft blog.

This is not a journey. Or a road to self-discovery. Or a political blog. You will not find gluten-free recipes, or crafty how-to’s, or educational resources. Nor will you find self-proclaimed best exercise practices, or home improvement ideas. This is not a written out version of a house wife’s Pinterest board. Wedding ideas, dream houses, home cooked meals, fashion, makeup, these are not to be found here.

This is the Studio.

Studio: an artist’s or worker’s workroom, or the catchall term for an artist and their employees who work within that studio. This can be for the purpose of acting, architecture, painting, pottery (ceramics), sculpture, woodworking, scrapbooking, photography, graphic design, filmmaking, animation, industrial design, radio or television production broadcasting or the making of music. The term is also used for the workroom of dancers, often specified to dance studio.

The word studio is derived from the Italian: studio, from Latin: studium, from studere, meaning to study or zeal.

In the Martial Arts world, a studio is a place where we train. More than that though, it’s a place where we learn. Where we grow. Where we fall and we fail and we hurt and we mess up so badly that we want to quit and hang it all up.

It’s in that moment that we figure out what we are made out of. We are made out of our mistakes. We are forged from fire.

This blog is a Studio, where we learn, where we make mistakes, where we see what we are made of. At first, this blog is going to look a lot like my own personal learning, as I navigate what I want from a blog, as I learn whether or not I’m cut out for this. Where I learn about my audience, about you, about what you need and want out of this, out of me.

As this blog evolves, I want it to become a community, a place beyond just the mistakes and the learning. Like a martial arts community, I want this to be a place where we can grow, build confidences, share knowledge, embark in the beauty of learning and growing and forging ourselves from the fire. Eventually, I want to allow for submissions, for fellow writers to submit pieces for feedback not only from myself, but from the community. I want to create a safe space.

I want to build a foundation for my writing. A place where I can build a portfolio. And while I do that, I want to be able to give back to the community. Give us a forum for sharing work and ideas.

Promises I can make – because I try not to make promises lightly.

I promise to be candid with you.

I promise to write with passion and creativity.

I promise to respond and be active.

I promise to learn and evolve.

If nothing else, these are the things I can promise to you. And I will hold these things to the highest priority in regards to maintaining this site.

So, I’ve started a blog.

I have officially joined the masses of thousands of other writing hopefuls that want to be read and want to be heard. Who want to share their thoughts and their ideas and pass around their opinions like a peace pipe.

This is a learning blog.

This is a Martial Arts blog.

This is a creative blog.

This is a story blog.

This is not your average blog.

This is the Studio.

Welcome.

Leave a Reply

